quarta-feira, 1 de maio de 2013

Raul de Souza (biografia)

Raul de Souza (born August 23, 1934, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) is a renowned trombonist who has recorded with Sergio MendezFlora PurimAirto MoreiraMilton NascimentoSonny Rollins,Cal Tjader and the jazz/fusion band Caldera.
American producer, composer and pianist, George Duke, was brought in to produce de Souza's first and second album releases for Capitol in the mid-1970s, Sweet Lucy and Don't Ask My Neighbors. In 1979, Souza released 'Til Tomorrow Comes, an Arthur Wright production with many of the top soul session players in Los Angeles. This recording was devoid of any jazz and was an effort to jump aboard the disco/funk bandwagon. Colors, his earlier album for Milestone, is available on CD as part of the Original Jazz Classics series from Fantasy Records.
He has appeared at many international jazz festivals and after living and working in the United States for many years, he has returned to live in Brazil where he continues to play and compose.

As leader

  • À Vontade Mesmo (RCA Brazil, 1965)
  • International Hot (Equipe, 1968)
  • Colors (Milestone, 1974)
  • Sweet Lucy (Capitol, 1977)
  • Don't Ask My Neighbors (Capitol, 1978)
  • 'Til Tomorrow Comes (Capitol, 1979)
  • Via Volta (Top Tape, 1986)
  • 20 Preferidas: Raul de Souza (RGE, 1996)
  • Rio (Mix House/Eldorado, 1998) with Conrad Herwig
  • No Palco! Raul de Souza (Inter CD Records, 2000)
  • Splendid Night (Media 7/Next Music, 2003)
  • eLiXiR (Tratore, 2005)
  • Jazzmin (Biscoito Fino, 2006)
  • Soul & Creation (Phantom Sound & Vision, 2008)
  • Bossa Eterna (Biscoito Fino, 2008)
  • DVD - O Universo Musical de Raul de Souza, direção artística: Flávio N. Rodrigues